Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Contest

2020 RNA Contest finalists announced

Tuesday, July 14, 2020  
Share |

2020 RNA Contest finalists announced

(COLUMBIA, MO) — A wealth of outstanding religion journalism added to the annual difficulty of choosing a slate of finalists to move past the first round of judging in the Religion News Association’s 2020 Awards for Religion Reporting Excellence. 

Winners will be selected from among the list below of nearly 100 finalists spanning 22 categories for newspapers, magazines, online-only outlets, broadcast outlets, non-fiction books and student journalists. They will be revealed to the public during a virtual awards banquet this fall and will split a prize purse of nearly $8,000.


Duncan Ryūken Williams, "American Sutra: A Story of Faith and Freedom in the Second World War"

Jana Riess, "The Next Mormons: How Millennials Are Changing the LDS Church"

Kathryn Long, "God in the Rainforest: A Tale of Martyrdom and Redemption in Amazonian Ecuador"

Lawrence Pintak, "America & Islam: Soundbites, Suicide Bombs and the Road to Donald Trump"

Sara Georgini, "Household Gods: The Religious Lives of the Adams Family"

Steven Waldman, "Sacred Liberty: America's Long, Bloody, and Ongoing Struggle for Religious Freedom"


Note: Some categories do not announce finalists (documentary).

Andrew Goldstein, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Andrew Rush, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Bekah McNeel, Christianity Today

Bobby Ross Jr., The Christian Chronicle

Brandon Ambrosino, POLITICO Magazine

Brett Krutzsch, The Indianapolis Star & The Advocate

Brian Roewe, National Catholic Reporter

Carol Kuruvilla, HuffPost

Catherine Godbey, The Decatur Daily

Celia Viggo Wexler, Freelance

Danae King, The Columbus Dispatch

Daniel Burke, CNN (2 categories)

Dar Yasin, The Associated Press

David Crary, The Associated Press

David R. Brockman, Texas Observer

Deena Prichep, NPR

Doug Fabrizio, RadioWest, KUER

Douglas Todd, Vancouver Sun & Postmedia

Elizabeth Dias, The New York Times (3 categories)

Elizabeth Eisenstadt Evans, Global Sisters Report

Emma Green, The Atlantic (2 categories)

Eric Berger, St. Louis Jewish Light

Forward Magazine

Fr. Daniel Horan OFM & David Dault, The Francis Effect

Harmeet Kaur Kamboj, Freelance

Heidi Hall, for work done at Religion News Service & The Tennessean

Heidi Schlumpf, National Catholic Reporter

Houston Chronicle: Robert Downen, John Tedesco, Lise Olsen, Jon Shapley (2 categories)

Ian Lovett, The Wall Street Journal (2 categories)

Jack Jenkins, Religion News Service

Jamie Manson, National Catholic Reporter

Jaweed Kaleem, Los Angeles Times (2 categories)

Jayson Casper, Christianity Today

Jesse Remedios, National Catholic Reporter

Joshua J. McElwee, National Catholic Reporter

Julia Bicknell, World Watch Monitor

Julie Zauzmer, The Washington Post (3 categories)

Kate Shellnutt, Christianity Today

Katherine Burgess, The Commercial Appeal

Kelsey Dallas, Deseret News (2 categories)

KUER News/Preach Podcast: Lee Hale, Tricia Bobeda, Joel Meyer

Letty Cottin Pogrebin, Moment Magazine

Lindsay Schnell & Sam Ruland, USA TODAY Network

Massarah Mikati, Houston Chronicle

Matthew Bell & Heather Mellquist-Lehto, The World, WGBH and PRX

Meagan Clark, Religion Unplugged

Menachem Wecker, for work done at EducationNext & Mosaic Magazine

Michael J. O'Loughlin, America Magazine

Michelle Boorstein, The Washington Post

Moment Magazine

Morgan Lee, Mark Galli, Quick to Listen / Christianity Today

Mukhtar Khan, The Associated Press

Nausheen Husain, Chicago Tribune

Nicole Einbinder & Gabriela Bhaskar, The Nation

Nicole Winfield, The Associated Press

NY1 News: Josh Robin, Zoe Slemmons, Brianne Barry, Gena Wolfson, Serjio Rios, Pablo Bujosa, Andrea Marroquin, Enrique Adanez, Sam Mark

Paul Glader, Religion Unplugged (2 categories)

Rachel Swarns, The New York Times

Reporting and Data Teams, International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, The Associated Press, NBC News Investigative Unit, The New York Times, Le Monde, El Pais, the Irish Times, the British Broadcasting Corporation, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (2 categories)

Rowaida Abdelaziz, HuffPost

Ruth Graham, Slate (2 categories)

Sam Kestenbaum, The New York Times

Saqib Rahim, freelance journalist

Sarah Delia, WFAE (2 categories)

Sarah Pulliam Bailey, The Washington Post (2 categories)

Simran Jeet Singh, Religion News Service

Soli Salgado, Global Sisters Report

Sonia Paul, Religion News Service

Stephanie Strasburg, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (2 categories)

The Associated Press

The Washington Post: Michelle Boorstein, Shawn Boburg & Robert O'Harrow

Thomas J Reese, Religion News Service

Tia Noelle Pratt, America Magazine & Faithfully Magazine

Tiffany Stanley, The Washington Post Magazine

Tom Gjelten & Jason DeRose, NPR News

Tom Krattenmaker, for work done at USA TODAY & The Humanist

Tony Carnes, A Journey through NYC religions (2 categories)

WGBH: Phillip Martin, Kavita Pillay, Kenneth Cooper, Tinku Ray, Aaron Schachter, Arun Rath, Meredith Nierman

Yonat Shimron, Religion News Service


Cassidy Klein, Point Loma Nazarene University

Diana Kruzman, New York University

Elizabeth Vandenboom, The King's College

Gabe Stern, Syracuse University

Jasmine Johnson, Bethel University

Johnny Harounoff, Columbia Journalism School

Krishna Narayanamurti, University of Southern California

Megan Botel, University of Southern California

Nicholas J. Scrimenti, Harvard Divinity School

Renee Darline Roden, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

*Student entries cover the academic year (summer 2019 through spring 2020).




Tiffany McCallen


Sponsored Notices

Community Search
Sign In


9/24/2020 » 9/25/2020
2020 RNA Annual Conference (Virtual)

Latest News